What's new
The Fig Spot

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on the site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other fig members through your own private inbox!

fig identification

jas

Fundamental
Hi. I'm new to forum and need at bit of help. I live in northern Tennessee just barely into zone 7. I have a 10 -12 year old tree which was sold to me as a Chicago Hardy but obviously is not. It froze off a few times when small so looks more like a 12 ft high bush than a tree. Most years it does not freeze off now and I get a heavy breba crop (well over 100 figs this year) late June-early July and another smaller crop mid-late September. Figs are green yellow when ripe and pulp is amber colored with just hint of reddish. I'm not good at comparing to other varieties tastes, but it is sweet and juicy and we love it. I doubt it is anything exotic- I'm thinking maybe kadota?

Attachments

• fig1.jpg
    fig1.jpg
    413.6 KB · Views: 3

Shaft

Can we get a photo of the leaf by itself, and another of a bisected fig, separately? Hard to tell from the angle and lighting much about this fig, I'm sorry!

ATM I can tell you it looks like a adriatic but maybe that's just the lighting.

jas

Fundamental
sorry- those were midsummer photos and the tree is now bare. I don't have anything else. Thanks anyway.

Shaft

sorry- those were midsummer photos and the tree is now bare. I don't have anything else. Thanks anyway.
What I can tell you is it appears to be an adriatic-type fig. Adriatic type figs all look very, VERY similar and require fine detail to distinguish. Even the taste is very, very close. No matter what, you've got your hands on a fantastic fig!

If you send us photos next season, we'll be able to hunt more information down for you. Nothing to do with fruit trees is particularly fast :) Can take a few years to get answers.

Figology

Fundamental